I’ve been collecting Algoryn since a while now and Antares is my first choice for wargaming nowadays, a lot of exciting new releases, great scenery and a community in facebook which is a pleasure to folloImage result for algorynw.

We’ve seen a lot of new painting scheme, battle reports, videos and podcasts and of course a lot of blogs dedicated to Antares. I don’t write in my blog as much as I’d like but every now and then I have ideas I want to document and this new series is one of them.

I am going to build up (not from scratch) the background for my renovated Blue Devils, adding a bit of background and exploring the operational side of this Armoured Infantry regiment starting from the smallest operation force, the scout force.

The Idea

I started to think about Scout Force Torak after I’ve seen the fantastic Sarissa Precision Algoryn Fortress and the new plastic Algoryn were the perfect models to start executing the idea.

I like to build scenery with my force, I think it’s great for a theme and the narrative, and in an old post, I already published my first try to match force with scenery with the Agloryn exploration module. Now, that was the first time I was playing around with complete scratch build scenery and while I’m Image result for algorynnot too unhappy with the results the Sarissa product is at another level. It’s composed of three small bastions and one large bastion plus extra stuff as guardpost and walkways. And it’s a drop fortress. Drop. So I could see how a small bastion can be assigned to a small force and be used to drop the force for exploration, recognition and so on. That’s exactly what I was looking for, one of the small bastions will become Bastion Torak or “The Cave” as the Algoryn of scout force Torak likes to call it. It’s a the same time the place in which the scout force lives and operate during the exploration missions and it’s in all effects, part of the force equipment.

Army List

At 500 points choices are quite limited in Antares but the Algoryn are probably the most versatile force with several tactical choices and plenty of support. So I was spoiled for choices, but two things in my mind were very clear, I want to use the new plastic Algoryn from Strike on Kar’A Nine and I want to try to keep an “exploration” theme for the force. Last, due to the constant struggle with the Ghar, I want my force to have an extra punch against the armored scum, so I have to find a way to add a Mag Cannon in the force.

AI Squad Alpha – Torak squad (112 pts)

download.png

Torak father, Ark’o was born founder and only thanks to an incredible act of valor during a battle against the Ghar in which he managed to save several civilians, alone, against a horde of outcasts, he managed to raise in the Vector ledger Mok’or. Torak is determined to honor his father legacy and hopes one day to show the same skills and bravery of the father. Torak carries a Mag Repeater, the same weapon his father used to repel the outcast horde, and he prefers overload ammo in his unit to have an extra punch against Ghar Battle squads. He leads squad Alpha, a heavy hitting squad with two Micro X-Launcher.

2017-03-12 (3).png

AI Intruders Sharks (136 pts)

download (1).png

Gorth and Torak are friends since the time of the training to become AI. Despite Gorth is part of a founder cast, and usually they are not assigned to lead intruders squads, Torak knows the tactical acumen and bravery of his friend very well and he trusts him to be both the eyes and the hard hitting fangs of his force. The sharks are trained to both speed and accuracy, they carry a compacted Mag Cannon and use the Intruders to quickly redeploy on the flank to target heavy armored targets. When there are no armored targets available they use a hail of Mag repeater fire to pin down and dispatch their enemies.

2017-03-12 (4).png