What a great year for Antares! 2017 has been amazing, great releases like Algoryn Liberator or Boromites Hauler, surprising new units like Hukk Bounty Hunter or the magnificent (and very retro’) Hazard Suites.

But also first Antares day in Nottingham, a new campaign book and the launch of the Nexus! Wow, it has been incredible, really and I hope you had as much fun playing Antares that I had.

ga-bo

But with the new year coming and dozens of games played with my beloved Blue Devils, I decided it’s time to start something new in this 2018. So I decided 2018 will be my year of Boromites! That’s something new! Really? Well, not really, I was trying to look back in my Warlord account to when I actually bought my first Boromites army and the order is too old to show up, so, well, that’s not really something new.

My first two orders were actually Algoryn and Boromites when Antares was still in its Alpha stage. I believe it was around 2015 and since then I kept collecting all figures that have been released and played some games – actually my first ever game of Antares was with Boromites! – Memories are coming back now, a failed assault from my overseer, gang fighters shootout against AI squad and underappreciated Work Gang! Oh, well, I was young then….

So the objective of this 2018 is to get ready my Boromites and the format I decided to follow is one dear to the old White Dwarf readers: Tales of …. but with only one army to follow, my Boromites.

boromitesymbol_256

I really want these articles to be helpful and inspiring for new players so I want to also include how much would it costs to prepare an army of Boromites. I just want to add that I’m making one of the two most expensive armies of Antares, Boromites and Isorians are the only two armies with figures available only in metal or resin, so no plastic love for now from the Warlord guys. To be honest I am not holding my breath for plastic Boromites because I think the current model range is awesome, at the same time I appreciate there are people out there that really dislike the Boromites idea (Rock people with Rock animals as pet, hard as dwarves, Miners, gangers, and with a matriarchal society), therefore these series of articles might not be everyone’s cup of tea, but I really like my “rock guys” so here we go.

Resources and Budget

Let’s start at the beginning, you want to start to play Beyond the Gates of Antares and you like Boromites, so how to start and what to buy from the beginning?

We start with an initial budget of 100 pounds and we will add 30 pounds every month, the budget will be used to buy every item we need to play with Boromites and some extra cool stuff like scenarios but it will not include hobby resources like paints or paintbrushes.

509910011-Antares-Rulebook-Bundle-English_grande

The first thing we need is the Beyond the Gates of Antares rulebook. Antares has two very nice starters sets but they don’t really contain miniatures we are interested in so when browsing the Warlord store we can find the big rulebook, sold at 30 pounds. But wait, for the same price we can have a bundle that contains also the mini rulebook in A5 format and the first supplement so that’s what we’ll buy

Antares Rulebook Bundle English

The mini rulebook is very handy but really not a replacement for the big rulebook which contains essentials rules to play. I assumed you already tried out the light rules and you want to experience fully what Antares can give you so the complete rulebook is necessary.

We still need a couple extra items to fully enjoy Antares, and those are:

In case you already play Bolt Action or Konflik ’47 you might not need the order dice or if you already have several D10 dice you might not buy the dice set, otherwise, you need to buy them to be able to play. We assume every item needs to be bought in this series so after these purchases our budget is:

Rulebook bundle 30 pounds

Boromites Free Army list 0 pounds

Boromites order dice 12 pounds

Antares dice pack 6 pounds

Antares Templates 6 pounds

Total so far: 54 pounds

That’s good, we already have plenty to read, all things we need to play the game and still 46 pounds to invest in figures!

Now that we have rules and army list let’s make a nice list at 500 points so we can plan our next buy.

Looking at the army list a couple units really shine for me, the Work Gang and the Lavamites, both pretty focused on short-range or hand to hand combat, and that’s what I like about the Boro, they are tough and hits very hard in close range. So these are must have units, I just add reflex armor to the work gang for extra resilience and we’re good.

I also like the Overseer squads, great Command value (10) and plasma carabines which are always good in Antares. Cost seems reasonable so I’m adding them, giving the Overseer himself a fun Tractor maul for some heavy hitting hand to hand.

WGA-BOR-21-Boromite-Overseer_grande

I’d like to add a squad of Gang Fighters because I appreciate the range of the mag gun, it might not be the best tactical selection but I really like the models and the flexibility of having a long-range unit in opposition of the short range of the Work Gang.

Now it’s time to choose some support selection and the X-Launcher, with a spotter drone and net ammo, is a no brain choice. X-Launchers are really super useful in Antares, especially if equipped with net ammo to lay down pins to the enemies!

The last choice is a simple (but lethal) Mag Light Support with its’ RF 3 and nice strike value will help laying down extra firepowers on scary enemies units.

boro1

 

So Trukk late shift (that’s my Overseer) is ready to go, now we just need to plan our next buy to fill our army list.

As said we still have 46 pounds to spend and we’ll start with tactical units:

This is a total of 42 pounds to fill in three tactical choices (and still have a spotter drone not used in the list), so this will leave us with 4 pounds cash to add to our next month budget.

Now you have one month to read all the rules and paint your models, hopefully, I will be able to post the second part of this series soon in January, so I will also show you the paint job of the figures I bought!